Diablo 4: Gear Rarity Levels Explained

By Abed Shatila July 01, 2023 - Updated on September 07, 2023 in Guides Reading time: 3 minute read
Diablo 4 Rarities

In Diablo 4, you will come across so much loot, and most of it is items of different rarities with different affixes and Aspects. Blizzard decided to maintain the color-coded gear concept and avoid any ground-breaking changes, similar to what we had in Diablo 3.

This is good as it will make hunting gear much easier because you will be able to understand the power of your items just by looking at their colors.

What are Diablo 4 rarities

Rarities are used to measure the power of your items by using five different colors with white being the weakest and bronze being the strongest.

  • Common (White items)
  • Magic (Blue items)
  • Rare (Yellow items)
  • Legendary (Orange items)
  • Unique (Bronze items)

All grades can be earned from dropped loot, chests, Murmuring Obols merchant, dungeons, and much more. Legendary items have better places to be farmed than others, and this is the rarity that you will need as you progress toward the endgame.

Each one of the rarities can have a set number of affixes (stats), and gem sockets. Below you will find specific details about every rarity.

  • Common: 0-1 Random extra stat.
  • Magic: 1-2 Random extra stats, 0-2 gem sockets.
  • Rare: 2-4 Random extra stats, and 0-2 gem sockets.
  • Legendary: 4 Random extra stats, 0-2 gem sockets, and a random Imprint.
  • Unique: 4 Fixed extra stats, 0-2 gem sockets, and a unique Imprint.


Diablo 4 rarities - Common

Common items are mostly used between levels 1 and 10 in the game. You will get your first item as you progress in the initial quests of the main story. They are just enough to get you going and I recommend you swap to a magic item as soon as you find one.

If you are playing Diablo 4 for the first time, then you’re going to have a hard time, but if it is not your first playthrough, then you probably accumulated some extra stats and skill points from the renown system and Altars of Lilith. Nevertheless, at the end of the day, common items will just end up being thrown away, salvaged, or sold.


Diablo 4 rarities - Magic

Magic items are not tied to magic classes like the sorcerer, but their names are just a common term used across games to indicate something weaker than rare but better than normal items. Magic items have a chance to drop with a gem socket, and this allows you to add gems and get additional stats apart from the random 1-2 extra stats that you might get from the item itself.

You will get your first magic item as a reward for defeating the first main story boss.


Diablo 4 rarities - Rare

Rare items are the stepping stone to endgame gear. You will be using that rarity up to level 50 or even more. I personally prefer to use Legendary items rather than rare as they provide more stats and come with Imprints by default.

Between levels 15 and 50, you will get rare items more often and they can have up to 4 random extra affixes, and up to 2 gem sockets.

Rare items can also be transformed into Legendary ones by adding an Imprint to them, and they can be found mostly in chests and dropped by Elite monsters. Moreover, Sacred and Ancestral variants of rare gear can be found in World Tier 3 and above, and they usually provide better stats.


Diablo 4 rarities - Legendary

One of the most sought-after gear pieces is legendary. This rarity comes with 4 guaranteed extra stats, and up to 2 gem sockets. You will even have a random Imprint that can be extracted and used in other pieces of gear, whether Legendary or Rare.

If you aim to cross beyond world tier 2, then you need to be decked out with Legendary armor. You can get this rarity by conquering Strongholds, opening Helltide chests, defeating Elites, opening Silent Chests, and much more.


Diablo 4 rarities - Unique

Unique items are the last and best-in-class rarity that you can farm in Diablo 4. They come with 4 fixed affixes, up to 2 gem sockets, and a unique Imprint.

Unique items tend to have designs that stand out from other gear items, and people can identify you wearing a unique item just by looking at your character.

These types of items are usually used to improve a specific ability for a specific class. This helps in creating a build that is tailored for this unique item. For example, the image above shows a Unique Sword that boosts the Barbarian’s Rupture. An ability that I am not even using, but having a Unique item gives you a nice rush that we all look for in looter games.

There are a select few extremely rare Unique items called Uber Uniques, and they were announced on Twitter by one of the Devs at Diablo 4.

This is everything you need to know about rarities. Now go ahead and start collecting those unique and legendary items, and if you don’t need them, you can always salvage them for transmogs.

Previous Post

Diablo 4: How to Unlock World Tier 3

Next Post

Diablo 4: How to Beat Mother’s Judgment [Boss Guide]

Abed Shatila

Abed Shatila

Abed Shatila is a developer with a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science, but he is also a passionate gamer who has been enjoying games of all genres since he was six years old. Abed is an expert at creating video game guides. When he is not busy writing code, he enjoys crafting content to assist both existing and newer generations of gamers in making their gaming journeys much smoother.

Related Posts