Diablo 4: Paragon Points & Paragon Boards Explained

Paragon points and Boards are the endgame of Diablo 4. Find everything you need to know about this system right here.
By Abed Shatila July 02, 2023 - Updated on September 07, 2023 in Guides Reading time: 3 minute read
Diablo 4 Paragon Points and Paragon Board

Paragon points replace the Skill Points you would usually get after each level, and they are used to improve your build by providing additional stats. Once you hit level 50, you will stop getting Skill Points, and start earning Paragon points to spend on your Paragon Boards.

Diablo 4 Paragon boards explained

A Paragon board is a collection of nodes, and each node provides you with a specific stat and costs one Paragon point to unlock. Connecting enough nodes allows you to attach two boards and progress further with the entire system.

Much like gear rarities, the nodes in the Paragon board are split into 4 different rarities.

Normal (White nodes)

Normal nodes are the most dominant ones in every board, and they grant +5 Dexterity, Strength, Intelligence, or Willpower. Apart from providing you with additional stats, they are also used to satisfy the requirements needed to unlock bonuses from Glyphs and rare nodes which we will cover later in this guide.

Blue (Blue nodes)

Grants one extra stat much like affixes. This stat could be anything from a damage boost to vulnerable enemies or a percentage increase in armor. However, unlike normal nodes, these are less frequent and are a bit deeper in the board which requires more Paradon point investment to get to.

Yellow (Rare nodes)

Rare nodes are extremely important as they will impact your build significantly. They provide 2 affixes and a bonus affix that is only given if you meet the requirements.

For example, you can get a Rare node that grants a 14% Core Skill Damage increase, a 12% Critical Strike Damage boost for the two first two affixes, and a bonus one that provides you with 10% Vulnerable Damage that is granted only if you have 350 Dexterity and 350 Strength accumulated.

Orange (Legendary nodes)

Every board has one Legendary node that is usually located in the center of the Board. These types of nodes affect your overall character’s playstyle and can make or break a build. They require a huge Paragon point investment so getting them is a bit harder than going for those rare or magic nodes.

Attaching new Paragon Boards

Board Selection
Paragon Board Selection

Each Paragon Board except the starting one, has four gates, one on each edge. Unlocking one gate will grant you +5 to all core attributes, and gives you the option to access a new Board. When you reach a gate, you have to press on it to access the new board.

Once you press on the gate, you will get the option to choose which board you want to proceed to. A preview of the rare and legendary nodes that are included in the new board will be displayed to you so you can plan your route accordingly.

You can also rotate a board before you start investing points into it, and this is to help you create a strategic board that can probably reach the Legendary node faster, or get more rare nodes before getting to the other gate.

How to get paragon points in Diablo 4

How to level up the Paragon Board

There are multiple ways to get Paragon points, and you can get a maximum of 225. Here are all the ways you can get them:

  • Earning them through limited Altars of Lilith.
  • Completing the last tier of Renown rewards.
  • You will get three points as you level up after level 50.

Glyphs and Glyph Nodes

Paragon Points and Paragon Board - Glyphs

Similar to Legendary nodes, every board will have a Glyph node that can be socketed. The way Glyphs work is that they will provide a significant stat boost to the nodes within range of the Glyph if you meet certain requirements.

You can find Magic and Rare Glyphs from chests or drops from Elites. They are most commonly found in Nightmare Dungeons that are only accessible in World Tier 3.

  • A Magic Glyph covers up to 2 nodes within its range at level 1 and goes up to 3 nodes when leveled up to level 4.
  • A Rare Glyph covers up to 3 nodes within its range at level 1 and goes up to 4 nodes when leveled up to level 15.

Glyphs can be upgraded by completing a Nightmare Dungeons, and the maximum level they can get is 21.

How to reset Paragon Points

To reset your Paragon points in Diablo 4, you will have to refund every node individually by spending gold. You can’t reset an entire board with a single click. This will become more expensive as your level gets higher and you have more points to refund.

So I recommend that you check out meta builds if you are not very fond of creating your own. Also, I suggest you use this amazing build planner to play around with Paragon points and boards before you make a decision in-game.

Previous Post

Diablo 4: How To Open Silent Chests

Next Post

Diablo 4: What are Capstone Dungeons

Abed Shatila

Abed Shatila

Abed Shatila is a developer with a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science, but he is also a passionate gamer who has been enjoying games of all genres since he was six years old. Abed is an expert at creating video game guides. When he is not busy writing code, he enjoys crafting content to assist both existing and newer generations of gamers in making their gaming journeys much smoother.

Related Posts