Diablo 4: How to Unlock World Tier 3

Unlock Sacred gear, Unique items, and much more with World Tier 3, also known as Nightmare.
By Abed Shatila July 01, 2023 - Updated on August 28, 2023 in Guides Reading time: 2 minute read
world tier menu

Diablo 4 has a progressive tier system that allows players to embark on more challenging content as their level increases. The way it works is through World Tier levels. Currently, there are 4 world tiers, and the first two are unlocked by default when you start the game.

World tiers 3 and 4 are locked, and you need to reach a certain level and complete certain tasks to be able to unlock them. This guide will go over how to unlock World Tier 3, and what to expect when you swap to this tier.

How to unlock World Tier 3

To unlock World Tier 3 in Diablo 4, you need to complete the Priority quest called “World Tier 3: Nightmare” in World Tier 2. The quest will ask you to explore the level 50 Capstone dungeon “Cathedral of Light” which is located in Kyovashad.

You need the following requirements before you can obtain the World Tier 3: Nightmare priority quest:

  • Your character should be level 40.
  • You completed all 6 acts in the main story and the Epilogue.

By conquering the Cathedral of Light, you will be able to switch to World Tier 3. I recommend that you are at least level 50 before doing that as the monsters’ level starts at 55, and they don’t scale to your level if you are anywhere less than that.

When you change to World Tier 3, you can expect the following:

  • Sacred and Unique items will start to drop.
  • Nightmare sigils will start dropping, and you will get access to Nightmare Dungeons.
  • Helltides will become accessible all over Sanctuary.
  • Some monsters will have auras that can increase all surrounding enemy armor, or damage.
  • Enemies are much stronger.
  • Experience earned from killing monsters is increased by 100%.
  • Monsters drop 20% more gold.
  • Monsters have 20% increased resistance to all elements.

How to change World Tiers in Diablo 4

Statue of Inarius
Statue of Inarius

To change World Tiers, you need to go to Kyovashad and find the Statue of Inarius which is located just under the Cathedral. You can also change your world tier from the character selection screen.

Keep note that changing a World Tier will terminate all active portals, reset all incomplete Whispers, and close any active Nightmare Dungeon.

Previous Post

Diablo 4: What are Capstone Dungeons

Next Post

Diablo 4: Gear Rarity Levels Explained

Abed Shatila

Abed Shatila

Abed Shatila is a developer with a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science, but he is also a passionate gamer who has been enjoying games of all genres since he was six years old. Abed is an expert at creating video game guides. When he is not busy writing code, he enjoys crafting content to assist both existing and newer generations of gamers in making their gaming journeys much smoother.

Related Posts